Skip to main content
Churchill Wild co-founders Mike and Jeanne Reimer receive 2017 Transat Sustainable Tourism Award.

Churchill Wild co-founders Mike and Jeanne Reimer receive 2017 Transat Sustainable Tourism Award.

Churchill Wild is proud to announce that we were presented with the Transat Sustainable Tourism Award at the 2017 Canadian Tourism Awards on Thursday, November 29 at the Hilton Lac Leamy in Gatineau-Ottawa, Quebec.

Thank you to the Tourism Industry Association of Canada and congratulations to our fellow nominees, The Listel Hospitality Group in Vancouver, British Columbia and Mistaken Point Cape Race Heritage Inc. in Trepassey, Newfoundland.

Presented by The Toronto Star, The Canadian Tourism Awards are given out annually by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada to recognize success, leadership and innovation in Canada’s tourism industry, and to reward those people, places, organizations and events that have gone above and beyond to offer travelers superior tourism experiences in Canada. The Canadian Tourism Awards have become the standard of excellence for businesses and organizations in the travel industry, showcasing the nation’s best tourism products, services and experiences.

The Transat Sustainable Tourism Award recognizes a business which protects and preserves natural and cultural heritage resources; fosters appreciation and enjoyment of natural and cultural heritage resources; raises awareness among visitors and influences them to enjoy resources sustainably; mitigates negative impacts of tourism on the natural and cultural environment; and respects, involves and engages other stakeholders and host communities.

Fourteen organizations and individuals were honoured at the 2017 Canadian Tourism Awards ceremony, which was attended by Bardish Chagger, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Minister of Small Business and Tourism.

“It is a privilege to join such impressive, hard-working high achievers, innovators, marketers and entrepreneurs who make Canada a top destination for tourists,” said Chagger. “Your hard work and dedication are what help grow this vital sector, and the warm welcome you provide each year to millions of visitors from around the world is what keeps them coming back again and again. On behalf of the Government of Canada, I offer sincere congratulations to all the winners and nominees of the 2017 Canadian Tourism Awards.”

“Tonight’s Canadian Tourism Awards have showcased our diverse industry to the fullest,” said TIAC President and CEO, Charlotte Bell. “Myself and everyone at TIAC are honoured to recognize the outstanding innovation, dedication and expertise of all our nominees and winners again this year. Recognizing and celebrating these accomplishments is very important, as these industry successes ensure that Canada continues to be seen as a world-class destination.”

A sincere thanks to all our guests, staff, friends and family for helping us to win this prestigious award. As has always been the case with Churchill Wild, this was a team effort!

See all the 2017 Canadian Tourism Award winners here.

Leave a Reply


Join Our Mailing List

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.